Maybe your ex-boyfriend dropped off the face of the planet. Maybe your childhood best friend stopped talking to you out of nowhere. Maybe you have been wondering why some people you used to see posting like crazy have gone completely silent.
If you think someone is intentionally pushing you out of their life, here is how to know if someone blocked you on Facebook.
How do you know if someone blocked you on Facebook?
When someone blocks you on Facebook, they seemingly disappear from the site. You no longer have access to their pictures, their status updates, or their page as a whole.
If you are worried someone might have blocked you, then you should search their name on the site using the bar on the top of the screen.
If it does not come up, that means they have either deleted their page, they have their privacy settings turned up high, or they have blocked you from seeing it.
An even better way to check to see if you were blocked is to find a mutual friend, someone you know they have added on Facebook, and search that person’s friend list by using the box in the righthand corner.
If you see their name, then you can check to see if they only unfriended you. However, if you still do not see their name anywhere, then they may have blocked you.
Overall, the best way to check to see if someone has blocked you is to search through your chat for an old conversation you had with them. If the account says ‘Facebook User’ in bold, then they have gotten rid of their account. However, if their actual name is emboldened, they have blocked you.
If you’re good at sleuthing, you can also search for old posts they made on your page or on a business page. You should still be able to see what they have written, but you will not be able to click on their name and their picture will have a question mark instead of a selfie.
How do you block someone on Facebook?
If you want to block someone on Facebook, you should click on the dropdown menu and go to settings.
From there, you should click on blocking on the left side of your screen, which will be accompanied by a white minus sign surrounded by red.
Now, enter the name of the person you want to block and press the block button. Don’t worry, because they won’t be notified that you blocked them.
After you finish these steps, they will be unable to see what you have posted!
Are there other ways to block someone?
Instead of going through your settings, you can also go to the person’s profile and click on the dropdown list that appears to the right of the message and wave buttons.
When it unravels, block should be an option. All you have to do is click!
Of course, if you think blocking someone is too dramatic, Facebook now has an ‘unfollow’ option. If you click this, that means you will no longer have to see their posts on your timeline, but they will never be able to find out that you have unfollowed them the way that they could if you completely blocked them.
All you have to do is hover over ‘following’ and then you can choose between seeing their posts first, like usual, or unfollowing them.
This is the perfect solution for when you don’t want anything to do with someone, but you don’t really care if they have access to your information.
Overall, if you want to unfollow someone or block them completely, do not hesitate. Not everyone deserves to access your social media.