Magic Symbols: (Moon) Phases

25+ Magic Symbols For Rituals, Spells, And Celebrations

Magic involves connecting with the natural energies of the universe and producing change as a result. Energy is what joins everything together, and manipulating it can create fantastical changes. Magic is an art form, really, and these symbols are critical to mastering the power of magic through dedication and practice.

Magic symbols aren’t only used for spell casting. They can also help reduce negative energy and create positive energy. Although you might have seen some of these symbols before, you might not know their history or their meaning. Here is a list of important magical symbols and what they represent:

The Triple Goddess

This symbol represents the Maiden, Mother, and Crone as the waxing, full, and waning moon. This sign is associated with feminine energy, mystery, and psychic abilities.

The Horned God

This symbol is meant to signify night and day in order to portray the duel nature of The Horned God, who is the male part of Wicca’s theological system. It is associated with nature, wilderness, sexuality, hunting, and the life cycle.

Magic Symbols: The Horned God

The Pentagram

This symbol appears frequently in horror movies because it protects against evil. It represents the five elements — earth, air, fire, water, and the spirit. It has origins in ancient Greece and Babylon. However, it is also a major symbol in the Wiccan faith and is used in Wiccan rituals.

Magic Symbols: The Pentagram

Sun Rise & Set

Sunrise is the best time to cast spells for purification, business success, study, employment, breaking addictions of all kinds, travel, releasing guilt and jealousy, healing diseases, and the conscious mind. Sunset is the best time to cast spells for weight-loss, banishing misery and pain, and transforming negative habits.

Magic Symbols: Sun Rise & Set

The Quarters / The Elementals

This symbol represents the four elements of nature, which are the basics for casting any spells. It can also symbolizes the four different directions, with north being linked to air, east to earth, south to fire, and west to water.

Magic Symbols: The Quarters/TheElementals

The Sabbats

This symbol represents the eight festivals celebrated by Wiccans — Samhain, Yule, Imbolc, Ostara, Beltane, Litha, Lughnasadh, and Mabon. They are separated by approximately even intervals throughout the wheel of the year, which represents the journey of the human soul.

Magic Symbols: The Sabbats

Lunar Spiral

This spiral symbol is a feminine symbol associated with lifecycles, fertility, and childbirth. It can also represent intuition and other womanly traits.

Magic Symbols: Lunar Spiral

The Chalice

This symbol represents the Goddess, the womb, and the female reproductive organs. It also represents feminine qualities like intuition, subconsciousness, psychic ability, and gestation. The chalice’s base represents the material world.

Magic Symbols: The Chalice

The Athame

This magic symbol represents the element of Fire. Since it is a masculine principal, it is usually seen alongside the feminine chalice to represent procreation and creativity.

Magic Symbols: The Athame

The Wand

This symbol represents the element of Air. It is used during spell castings to bestow blessings, charge objects, and ‘draw down the moon’ during a ritual.

Magic Symbols: The Wand

Earth Elemental

This symbol represents abundance, prosperity, and fertility. It is commonly associated with the colors brown and green.

Magic Symbols: Earth Elemental

Air Elemental

This symbol represents communication, wisdom, and the mind. It is also commonly associated with the colors yellow and white.

Magic Symbols: Air Elemental

Fire Elemental

Fire is a strong, masculine element. Its symbol represents strong will, energy, transformation, and change.

Magic Symbols: Fire Elemental

Water Elemental

Water is a feminine element. It symbolizes the womb, purity, and washing away negative aspects from one’s world.

Magic Symbols: Water Elemental

The Sun

This symbol, in the shape of a circle, represents wholeness, unity, and infinity.

Magic Symbols: The Sun

The Moon

A crescent moon represents femininity and creativity. That is why this symbol is commonly linked to the creative power of the Mother Goddess.

Magic Symbols: The Moon

The Crone

This symbol represents the Triple Goddess’ three natures — Maiden, Mother, and Crone. It also represents the three main aspects of life — birth, growth, and death.

Magic Symbols: The Crone

The Lord Of Shadows

This symbol of The Lord Of Shadows represents reflection and rebirth.

Magic Symbols: The Lord Of Shadows

The Pentacle

This is one of the most famous symbols that you have probably seen in horror movies before. Placing a circle around a pentagram represents the connection and reciprocal relationship between the five elements — air, fire, earth, water, and spirit.

Magic Symbols: The Pentacle

Moon Rise & Set

The rising moon represents change, new beginnings, and youth. Meanwhile, the setting moon represents endings, death, and the cleansing of the soul.

Magic Symbols: Moon Rise & Set

Cosmic Lemniscate (Infinity)

This symbol represents reincarnation and the endless cycle of the soul.

Magic Symbols: Cosmic Lemniscate (Infinity)


Cauldrons represent the womb of the Mother Goddess. It also represents divine inspiration, infinite sustenance, and abundance.

Solar Cross

This symbol represents the movements of the sun, marked by the solstices. It is a charm for good luck and protection.

Magic Symbols: Solar Cross

The Bread

Although this symbol looks self-explanatory, it has a deep meaning. Bread is the product of grain, which symbolizes continued life. It can represent both mortality and the desire to survive.

Magic Symbols: The Bread

The Bolline (Work Knife)

This symbol represents the harvest, because the tool is used for cutting cords, wands herbs, and candles. It is never used against flesh.

Magic Symbols: The Bolline (Work Knife)

The Besom

This symbol is considered masculine in nature because of its phallic shape. It offers protection from evil spirits and negative energies. It also offers cleansing and purification. This symbol keeps evil forces at bay.

Magic Symbols: The Besom


This symbol is associated with the element of air. It is used for spells that have to do with communication, wisdom, and the mind.

Magic Symbols: Incense


This symbol represents renewal and hope. It symbolizes a fresh start.

Magic Symbols: Winter


Since Spring is the season when flowers begin to bloom, this symbol represents fertility, birth, renewal, and growth.

Magic Symbols: Spring


This symbol represents harvest, abundance, and bounty since summer is the time when crops are growing and forests are full.

Magic Symbols: Summer


This symbol represents harvest, balance, transformation, or a change in attitude.

Magic Symbols: Autumn

(Moon) Phases

Each phase of the moon has a different type of energy. You should cast spells for new beginnings during the new moon, cast spells for creativity and growth during the waxing moon, cast spells for harvest and sexuality during the full moon, cast spells for releasing and cleansing during the waning moon, and cast spells for peace and rest during the dark moon.

Magic Symbols: (Moon) Phases

The Witch’s Foot

This is a symbol of power. It looks like a snowflake with three straight lies. The middle line represents the upper and lower worlds. The other lines represent the four directions of the world.

The Witch’s Knot

This magic symbol has been used for love spells and weather spells. It can also be carved into the front door to ward off evil spirits. Thought Catalog Logo Mark

About the author

Daniella Urdinlaiz

Illustrator, designer, and all-around creative rover for Thought Catalog