Chakra Basics: The 7 Chakras, What They Represent, and How to Unblock Them [2020]

The Chakra system originated between 1500 and 500 BC in India. It was passed down through oral tradition and is still widely used in the modern century. Chakra (Sanskrit cakra) means wheel in Sanskrit. It refers to the energy center of the body. When chakras are open, energy can run through them freely. This creates harmony between the mind, body, and spirit. However, when they are blocked or out of balance, it can cause anger, frustration, and sadness.

The 7 Symbols

There are seven main chakras that make up the chakra system. However, there are also minor chakras that exist in the palms of hands and soles of feet. Each chakra point can be unlocked in a variety of ways and can cause specific problems when they are blocked.

Here are the main seven chakras that work as the energy center of the body:

The root chakra, known as Muladhara or the first chakra, is located at the base of the spine. It oversees money and financial independence. When it is blocked, a person will feel unsure and unstable. However, when it is open, they will feel grounded.

The sacral chakra, known as Swadhisthana, the second chakra, or the navel chakra, is located two inches below the navel. When it is blocked, a person will feel like they are losing control of their life. However, when it is open, they will feel fulfilled creatively, sexually, and emotionally.

The solar plexus chakra, also known as Manipura chakra or the third chakra, is located in the upper abdomen. When it is blocked, a person will feel ashamed and plagued by doubts. However, when it is open, they will feel confident and in complete control of their life.

The heart chakra, also known as Anahata chakra or the fourth chakra, is located above the heart. This is the bridge between the upper chakras and the lower chakras. When it is blocked, a person will have trouble letting their walls down and opening up to others. However, when it is open, they will be deeply compassionate and empathetic.

The throat chakra, also known as Vishuddha or the fifth chakra, is located in the throat. When it is blocked, a person will struggle to use their voice and express their feelings. However, when it is open, they will speak their truth with excellent communication skills.

The third eye chakra, also known as Ajna chakra or the sixth chakra, is located directly between the eyes. When it is blocked, a person will only view a situation based on the surface level. This chakra is associated with the pituitary gland, so it can also cause headaches and hormone imbalances. However, when it is open, they will be highly intuitive. They might even see visions.

The crown chakra, also known as Sahasrara chakra or the seventh chakra, is located at the top of the head. It is associated with the pineal gland, which is in the middle of the brain. This is a spiritual chakra, and when it is open, a person will be able to access higher consciousness. However, this is extremely rare.

Chakra Colors

The 1st chakra, the root chakra, is red.

The 2nd chakra, the sacral chakra, is orange.

The 3rd chakra, solar plexus chakra, is yellow.

The 4th chakra, the heart chakra, is green.

The 5th chakra, the throat chakra, is light blue or turquoise.

The 6th chakra, the third eye chakra, is dark blue or purple.

The 7th chakra, the crown chakra, is violet or white.

Chakra Stones

The root chakra is represented by hematite, which is associated with earth.

The sacral chakra is represented by the Tiger’s Eye stone, which is associated with water.

The solar plexus chakra is represented by Amber, which is associated with fire.

The heart chakra is represented by Rose Quartz, which is associated with air.

The throat chakra is represented by Aquamarine, which is associated with sound and music.

The third eye chakra is represented by Amethyst, which is associated with light.

The crown chakra is represented by Clear quartz, which is associated with divine consciousness. 

Chakra Balancing

Chakra healing works differently based on which chakra is in question. However, overall, chakra meditation or learning a mudra, which is another word for a gesture, will generally help. To get a bit more specific, here are a few different methods of healing based on which chakra needs unblocking:

To open a blocked root chakra, use meditation to envision the color red, which is the color associated with this chakra. Performing a traditional asana pose, like the tree pose, can also cleanse the root chakra.

To open a blocked sacral chakra, eat more orange foods, such as sweet potatoes, carrots, and melons. Doing a yoga pose, dancing, and doing hip-opening stretches can also be helpful.

To open a blocked solar plexus chakra, practice guided meditation or stand in front of the mirror and recite affirmations. Forearm planks are also an excellent way to place the mind and physical body in harmony.

To open a blocked heart chakra, pay close attention to posture. Straighten the spine and drop the shoulders. Volunteering, meditation, yoga practice, and visualization can also help.

To open a blocked throat chakra, practice yoga, specifically the cat-cow pose. Simply get on all fours, drop the belly, and arch the spine. Singing and repeating positive mantras can also be beneficial.

To open a blocked third eye chakra and reach a higher consciousness, try journaling about the day’s events. Energy healing can also be achieved by writing down dreams. Keep a running record of thoughts.

To open a blocked crown chakra, spend more time in nature. Also, spend more time pondering the bigger questions in life. Think of something greater than the individual.

Chakra Crystals

Although there is one specific stone associated with each chakra in the chakra system, there are multiple crystals that can help open each chakra. Simply holding these crystals or placing them against the body will cause spiritual and emotional healing.

Root chakras can be healed by hematite, black obsidian, black tourmaline, red zincite, garnet, spinel, smoky quartz, and zirconhe.

Sacral chakras can be healed by orange calcite, vanadinite, carnelian, blue-green turquoise, blue-green fluorite, copper, and imperial topaz.

Solar plexus chakras can be healed by citrine, amber, yellow jasper, golden calcite, yellow apatite, and gold tiger eye.

Heart chakras can be healed by rose quartz, cobaltian calcite, pink danburite, lepidolite, rosasite, vesuvianite, pink tourmaline, watermelon tourmaline, green aventurine, malachite, and jade.

Throat chakras can be healed by sodalite blue calcite, blue kyanite, chrysocolla, celestite, blue chalcedony, Angelite, blue turquoise, amazonite, and aquamarine

Third eye chakras can be healed by blue apatite, lapis lazuli, azurite, and tanzanite.

Crown chakras can be healed by amethyst, apophyllite, Herkimer diamond, quartz crystal, white hemimorphite, white calcite, white topaz, white danburite, white howlite, and selenite. Thought Catalog Logo Mark

January Nelson is a writer, editor, and dreamer. She writes about astrology, games, love, relationships, and entertainment. January graduated with an English and Literature degree from Columbia University.