9 Types Of Angels You Should Know About

Here are all the different types of angels out there.

Angels are heavenly beings that are usually believed to be servants of God who can carry out his wish on Earth. There are different orders of angels that are called angelic choirs. There are three main types of angels, with angelic choirs within each larger type: first sphere, second sphere, and third sphere.

First Sphere

These angels are said to be direct servant of God.


Seraphim: Seraphs are angels that have six wings and In Christianity, this is the highest rank of angel. In Judaism, this is the 5th highest ranking angel. They are described in Isaiah 6:1-8:

In the year that King Uzziah died, I saw the Lord sitting on a throne, high and lofty; and the hem of his robe filled the temple. Seraphs were in attendance above him; each had six wings: with two they covered their faces, and with two they covered their feet, and with two they flew. And one called to another and said:

“Holy, holy, holy is the Lord of hosts;
the whole earth is full of his glory.”

The pivots on the thresholds shook at the voices of those who called, and the house filled with smoke. And I said: “Woe is me! I am lost, for I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips; yet my eyes have seen the King, the Lord of hosts!”

Then one of the seraphs flew to me, holding a live coal that had been taken from the altar with a pair of tongs. The seraph touched my mouth with it and said: “Now that this has touched your lips, your guilt has departed and your sin is blotted out.” Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send, and who will go for us?” And I said, “Here am I; send me!”

Cherubim: Cherubs originally were created to guard the Garden of Eden. They are said to have four faces (a human, an ox, a lion, and an eagle) and four wings covered with eyes.

Some scholars believe Satan is a fallen Dherub.

Cherubs are commonly depicted as baby angels, which is not how cherubs are described biblically but the image became popularized in Baroque art as a symbol for God. The word for this depiction is Putto.

Thrones: Thrones are named because they are the angels that carry God’s throne. Sometimes they are depicted as wheels with eyes on the throne or chariot of God. They are sometimes portrayed as older men who are elders in Christ’s community.

Second Sphere

This sphere of angels rule over Earth.

Francesco Botticini

Dominions: Dominions (sometimes call Lordships) look like attractive humans with feathered wings. Their job is to preside over the lesser angels.

Virtues: These are the angels to pray to if you need help as they are the ones who can intervene in the world. The can leave signs for the faithful to follow and even perform miracles.

Powers or Authorities: These are warrior angels who can fight demons. Usually, Powers or Authorities are drawn or painted as actual soldiers, in uniforms and with weapons to fight evil. They are the most loyal of all angels and manage everything in the universe.

Third Sphere

Third sphere angels are also great angels to pray to as their primary job is helping humans. They are guides, messengers, and protectors.

Guido Reni

Principalities or Rulers: These are angels assigned to protect groups of people (like a country, those of faith, the church). They rule over other angels and send them on missions in order to accomplish their protection role. Because of this, they are typically depicted wearing crowns and/or holding scepters.

Archangels: Archangel means “chief angel”. Michael is the only Archangel specifically mentioned in the bible, and the term is only used in the singular (meaning, it’s possible that Michael is the only one). In Judaism, there are seven Archangels.

Angels: Angels are the foot soldiers of the angel hierarchy. They send messages or carry out the tasks assigned to them by other angels. Personal guardian angels are these kind of angels. Thought Catalog Logo Mark

About the author

Erin Cossetta