An Accurate Guide To Video Game Ratings


Video games are given a rating by an independent review board so that consumers are aware of the game’s content. Most fall into one of three categories: E for Everyone, T for Teen and M for Mature. Here’s a further breakdown of how these categories differ.

E-rated: characters are named Blinky or Yoshi.
T-rated: play options are “cast spell” or “drink potion.”
M-rated: finishing moves are beheading or disembowelment.

E-rated: contains images with stunning CGI.
T-rated: features opponents with superior AI.
M-rated: displays some spectacular T & A.

E-rated: you use extra controllers to have a “Mario Party.”
T-rated: you use a dance mat to “bust a move.”
M-rated: you use online play to spew obscenities at “spawn snipers.”

E-rated: the story mode offers three skill levels.
T-rated: non-player characters offer supplies and shelter.
M-rated: hitting pedestrians offers 100 points.

E-rated: defeating the monster boss opens the next level.
T-rated: expert gameplay unlocks bonus vehicles or weapons.
M-rated: clever modding reveals hidden sex scenes.

E-rated: may cause seizures.
T-rated: may result in poor grades and obesity.
M-rated: may be part of a Congressional investigation.

E-rated: features NASCAR pro drivers.
T-rated: features WWE pile drivers.
M-rated: features drive-by shootings.

E-rated: having fun is more important than getting a high score.
T-rated: a punishing combo move will increase your score.
M-rated: a virtual hot tub is where you can score.

E-rated: access unlimited lives by entering a cheat code.
T-rated: beat tough levels by reading the strategy guide.
M-rated: justify deplorable content by invoking the First Amendment.

E-rated: usually available for most game consoles.
T-rated: made available at midnight on the day of release.
M-rated: easily available to children 13 and under. TC Mark

More From Thought Catalog